Back in 1962, actors were having difficulty getting credit.  In fact, one AEA member, when denied credit at a local department store, was told that he was being denied because he was an actor. This very member proceeded to raise the issue at an AEA meeting.  When asked if anyone would care to take up the challenge of starting a credit union for those of us in the acting profession, one member raised his hand: Conrad Bain.

Bain, along with six others–Anthony Saverino, Robin Craven, Herb Nelson, Theodore Bikel, Angus Duncan, and Bill Ross—incorporated Actors Federal Credit Union in 1962 with help from Leo Schwarz, Field Representative of the New York League of Credit Unions. And thousands have been glad they did!

Succession of ActorsFCU Board Presidents and Chairpersons

Conrad Bain
1962 – 1963
1966 – 1975

Herbert Nelson
1963 – 1966

Alvin Lum
1975 – 1980

Gil Rogers
1980 – 1983

Jeff Rodman
1983 – 1999

Denise Nolin
1999 – present